🔐 Account type(s) with default permissions to manage this: All account types can create and assign Views to Folders. Permission to share Folders varies by account type.
💻 Tier(s) this is available for: Foundation, Essential, Pro
A View is a saved Student List configuration. Organizing your Views into Folders makes them easier to find, helps you manage your workflows, and lets you share a number of Views with others at once.
This article covers how to:
- Assign Views to a Folder
- See Which Views Are in a Folder
- Share a Folder with Others
- Unshare a Folder
- Edit a Folder's Name
- Delete a Folder
Assign Views to a Folder
To assign Views to a Folder:
- Click Views at the top left of the Student List.
- Click Manage Views at the bottom left.
- Click the checkbox to the left of one or more Views.
- Click Assign to Folder at the top of the Manage Views page.
- The option to assign to an existing folder or to create a new folder appears.
- To assign to an existing folder, select the Folder's name from the dropdown.
- To assign to a new folder, select Create new folder and name the new Folder.
- Click Assign to Folder.
You cannot assign a View to a Folder you did not create.
See Which Views Are in a Folder
To see which Views are in a Folder:
- Click Views at the top left of the Student List.
- Find the Folder you would like to see in the tabs at left.
- Click the Folder name.
You can also see which Views are in a Folder by clicking Views at the top left of the Student List, clicking Manage Views at the bottom left, and selecting the Folder name at left.
Folders you created have a Folder icon next to them. Folders that have been shared with you have a Folder icon with a user overlaid to the right.
Share a Folder with Others
You can share all of the Views in a Folder with others at once by sharing the Folder with them. Depending on your permissions, you may be able to share Folders with:
- Individuals
- All users in a user group
- All users at one or more schools
- All users at one or more school types
- All users with a particular account type
- All users in the district
When you share a Folder, everyone you share it with sees the Filters, Fields, and Chart you configured, populated with the student data they have access to in Ellevation based on their permissions and level of access for each View in that Folder.
You can choose to notify people via email if you share a Folder with them by name.
To share a Folder with others:
- Click Views at the top left of your Student List.
- Click Manage Views at the bottom left.
- Find the Folder you would like to share in the tabs at left.
- Click the Dropdown menu icon to the right of the Folder's name.
- Select Share.
- Share the Folder:
- To share with individuals, group(s), or school(s): type the name of the people, group(s), or school(s) you want to share with (the text above the input box indicates your sharing permissions), leave the Send email notification box checked to notify them or uncheck it to skip the email, add an optional note, then click Save Changes.
- To share with one or more account types: type the name of the account type(s) you want to share with (the text above the input box indicates your sharing permissions), then click Save Changes.
- To share with your entire school district: click Advanced in the top right corner, click Change... to the right of the Folder's current Sharing Settings, select District, click Save Changes, then click Done.
ℹ️ Note
You cannot share a Folder that you did not create. Anyone you share a Folder with has access to all of the Views in that Folder. Sharing a Folder adds to the sharing settings for individual Views in that Folder, so anyone you previously shared a View with will continue to have access to it.
Unshare a Folder
To change sharing settings for a Folder you have created:
- Click Views at the top left of your Student List.
- Click Manage Views at the bottom left.
- Find the Folder you would like to change sharing settings for in the tabs at left.
- Click the Dropdown menu icon to the right of the Folder's name.
- Select Share.
- Click Advanced.
- To unshare the Folder with one or more people: click the Remove icon to the right of their name, then click Save.
- To unshare the Folder with everyone you previously shared it with: click Change, select Private, then click Save.
- To unshare the Folder with the entire district but continue to share with specific people who are listed as having access (only available for Ellevation Administrators): click Change, select Specific people can view, then click Save.
ℹ️ Note
Only Ellevation Administrators can share Folders with all Ellevation users in their school district. You cannot change sharing settings for a Folder you did not create. Unsharing a Folder does not override the sharing settings for individual Views in that Folder, so people you shared any Views with individually still have access to those Views.
Edit a Folder's Name
To change the name of a Folder you have created:
- Click Views at the top left of your Student List.
- Click Manage Views at the bottom left.
- Find the Folder you would like to update in the tabs at left.
- Click the Dropdown menu icon to the right of the Folder's name.
- Select Edit Folder.
- Change the Folder name.
- Click Update Folder.
You cannot change the name of a Folder you did not create.
Delete a Folder
To delete a Folder you have created:
- Click Views at the top left of your Student List.
- Click Manage Views at the bottom left.
- Find the Folder you would like to delete in the tabs at left.
- Click the Dropdown menu icon to the right of the Folder's name.
- Select Delete.
- Click Delete in the confirmation popup.
Deleting a Folder does not delete the Views in that Folder. To access the Views that had been assigned to it, click Views at the top left of your Student List and find them under the All Views and My Saved Views tabs.
⚠️ Warning
Deleting a Folder removes access to the Views that were in it for everyone you had shared the Folder with. People only continue to have access if you shared those Views with them individually. You cannot delete a Folder you did not create.